Pegasus for the Stanford Undergraduate


Pegasus Wings: Explore the Power of Writing & Medicine

A shadowing and writing experience for Stanford undergraduate students interested in medicine as a career

Stanford Undergraduate Students interested in the program should contact Dr. Richard Shaw. After speaking with Dr. Shaw, students can apply through the Stanford Immersion in Medicine Series to shadow members of the Pegasus Physician Writers at Stanford Group. Students will spend three mornings observing psychiatric evaluations of pediatric patients with severe and life threatening physical illnesses who are hospitalized at Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital.  Under the supervision of Richard J. Shaw, a Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine and member of Pegasus Physician Writers at Stanford, students will discuss their shadowing experience with the goal of developing themes for an exercise in creative writing.  Students will have the opportunity to submit their completed manuscripts for the Irvin Yalom Literary Award.

Preceptor: Jennifer Pien, M.D.

Stanford Undergraduate Participants

(alphabetical order)

Please visit Dr. Steiner's website for a list of Dr. Steiner's Stanford University undergraduate courses. 

Irvin David Yalom, M.D. Literary Award

Click here for more information and to apply!

The Irvin David Yalom, M.D. Award will be presented annually to a deserving student or students currently active in undergraduate or postgraduate education for an exceptional essay or creative writing piece—poetry, fiction, or non-fiction—describing her or his experience with medicine as a doctor, trainee or patient.  The piece should be an unpublished original. We prefer submissions under 30000 words, or not more than 5 poems.

Submissions accepted until December 30, 2019.  Please email submissions and your current student curriculum to Natasha Gupta ( and Dr. Steiner at: 

Announcing the winners of the annual Irvin D. Yalom Literary Award:


Poetry Category:

Winner: Liana Meffert, MS1, “What You See Here, Stays Here

Runner-Up: Sarah Kate Rosenbaum, MD, “Fire Is A Season”

Prose Category:

Winner: Lisa Robin Jacobs, MD, “Trapped In A Blizzard With A Politician in Withdrawal

Runner-Up: James H. Lee, MS3, “Conversations with Joanne

Honorable Mention: Pablo Romano, MS2, “An Education”


Winner: Lara Prior-Palmer, "the water in which we swim"

Runner-up: Michelle C. Liu, MD, "Two Doctors"

Honorable Mention: Dexter Louie, MD, "New Psychiatrist, Overwhelmed & Delirious"

Honorable Mention: Harika Kottakota, "Hu-Man"


Winner: Trevor Mooney, "Caddywumpus"

Runner-up: Anne-Sophie Bine, "Golden"

Honorable Mention: Allegra Padula, "Humanistic Tendencies"


Winner: Grace Kearney, "On the Mind"

Runner Up: Arany Uthayakumar, "At the Loom"

Runner Up: Sierra Freeman, "We’re All Okay"

Honorable Mention: Sojourner Ahebee, "On Hushed Sugarcane"


Winner: Maya Kasowski, PhD, MS3

Runner up: Ashley Pin-Yi Geo